
SJC 7-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit (NRS 40.253) (Rev. 10/7/2024) 

SPARKS JUSTICE COURT 
SEVEN-DAY NOTICE TO PAY RENT OR QUIT 

TO: FROM:   

Tenant Name(s)           Landlord Name(s) 

 and all occupants  named tenant(s) only 
Address 

Address City, State, Zip Code 

City, State, Zip Code Telephone Number(s) 

DATE OF SERVICE Email Address(es) 

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that you are in default of rental payment for the above-described premises for the 
current rental period (current period rent is owed for e.g. month): __________________ to __________________ 

The amount of periodic/monthly rent is $    . 

The last date Tenant(s) paid any amount of rent was . 

The amount of Tenant(s)’ last rental payment was $ . 

Current rent due (inclusive of contractual utilities): $ 

Past due rent (rent due for previous unpaid rental periods): $ 

Late fees (cannot be more than 5% of the periodic rent): $ 

Total owed (current rent due + past due rent + late fees, if any): $ 

IF YOU FAIL to pay rent or vacate the premises before close of business on the seventh (7th) judicial day 
following the Date of Service of this Notice, your landlord may apply for an eviction order at the Sparks 
Justice Court. If the Court determines that tenant(s) is/are guilty of an unlawful detainer, the Court may issue a summary 
order for removal from the premises or an order providing for the non-admittance of the tenant(s). The Sheriff may then 
remove you not earlier than 24 hours, but no later than 36 hours, after posting the Order. Pursuant to NRS 70.010 
subsection 2, you may request that the Court stay the execution of the order for a period of not more than ten days by 
stating the reasons why a stay is warranted. Pursuant to NRS 118A.390, you may seek relief if a landlord unlawfully 
removes you from the premises, excludes you by blocking or attempting to block your entry upon the premises, or 
willfully interrupts or causes or permits the interruption of an essential service required by the rental agreement or NRS 
Chapter 118A. 

YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO CONTEST THIS NOTICE by filing an Affidavit of Tenant with the Sparks Justice 
Court no later than the seventh (7th) judicial1 day following the Date of Service of this Notice. If unsure of your last day 
to respond, you may call the Sparks Justice Court Civil Department at 775.353.7600, Ext. 3.  

Eviction forms can be found online at https://www.washoecounty.gov/sjc/Forms.php or by visiting the Sparks Justice 
Court located at 1675 E. Prater Way Ste. 107, Sparks, NV 89434. Forms can be filed in-person or online at 
https://nevada.tylertech.cloud/OfsWeb/Home (Court Location: Sparks Civil; choose Case Type: “Eviction”).  

To request free legal advice or assistance, call Northern Nevada Legal Aid (775-329-2727) or Nevada Legal 
Services (775-284-3491). 

1 If the last date for filing is a non-judicial day, the time to file is extended through the next day that the Court is open for business. 
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